UB Dept. of Neurology to be Busy at 2017 ECTRIMS Meeting

Members of the Dept of Neurology, Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Univ. at Buffalo/SUNY will present over 20 scientific papers at the upcoming European Committee for Treatment and Research in Multiple Sclerosis (ECTRIMS).  The meeting will be held in Paris, France from October 25-28, 2017.  Department faculty and directors listed as authors on the ECTRIMS abstracts include Drs. Ralph Benedict, Sue Bennett, Michael Dwyer, David Hojnacki, Channa Kolb, Ferdinand Schweser, Caila Vaughn, Bianca Weinstock-Guttman, and Robert Zivadinov.  Topics include a wide range of studies on neuroimaging in MS, disability and other disease outcome measures, treatment trials, and the efficacy and safety of knee arthroplasty in the MS population.

Univ. at Buffalo Dept. of Neurology Holds 2017 Research Day and Graduation Banquet

UB Neurology Faculty and Housestaff at Research Day 2017

The UB Dept. of Neurology of the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences held its annual Michael E. Cohen, MD, Residents Research Day and Graduation Banquet on June 9, 2017.  All graduating residents presented their research findings, while the PGY-3 level residents presented research plans.  The Research Day was coordinated by Dr. Robert Zivadinov and his Buffalo Neuroimaging Analysis Center staff.

Winners of the Outstanding Resident Presentation Awards for Research Day were Ashish Arora, MBBS, PGY4 and outgoing co-chief resident,  and Sandhya Mehla, MBBS, PGY3.  A copy of the Research Day program is attached. Research Day 2017

At the Graduation Dinner banquet, Daniela Zambrano, MD, PGY3 and incoming co-chief resident, received the teaching award from the medical students.  Felix Cheng, MD, PGY2, and Harshit Shah, MBBS, PGY3, both were recognized with Resident Collegiality awards.  Ashish Arora also received the Dr. Edward Fogan Prize that recognizes overall clinical excellence.  Graduating PGY4 residents were Drs. Ashish Arora, co-chief resident, Hao Cheng, Svetlana Eckert, co-chief resident, and Brian Trummer.  Drs. Osman Farooq and Robert Glover each received Faculty Teaching Awards.  Eva Tamoga and Thomas Ballanca, administrative support staff for the training programs, played key roles in organizing the banquet.  Dr. Nick Silvestri, program director for the adult neurology residency training program, served as master of ceremonies.

Graduating residents (l to r): Drs. Ashish Arora, Svetlana Eckert, Brian Trummer, Hao Cheng


Stroke Division Helps Secure AHA Get With The Guidelines Gold Plus Recognition

Department of Neurology faculty of the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Univ. at Buffalo/SUNY have again contributed to the recognition of Buffalo General Medical Center and Gates Vascular Institute as a Get With the Guidelines-Stroke Gold Plus Achievement Award Hospital.  The recognition comes from the American Heart Association (AHA) which includes the American Stroke Association as a component body.  Department of Neurology stroke faculty include Dr. Robert Sawyer, Stroke Center Director and department Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs, as well as Drs. Marilou Ching, Christopher Deline, Amit Kandel, and Ashkan Mowla.  Stroke centers that receive Gold Plus recognition adhere to the most up-to-date, evidence-based treatments for stroke.

Robert N. Sawyer Jr., MD

UB Dept. of Neurology Active at AAN Annual Meeting

The Dept. of Neurology of the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Univ. at Buffalo, had an active presence at the Annual Meeting of the American Academy of Neurology held in Boston from April 22 to 28.  In addition to over 30 platform and abstract presentations mentioned in an earlier post, Gil Wolfe, MD, Irvin and Rosemary Smith Professor and Chairman of the department, presented results of the thymectomy trial in myasthenia gravis at the Clinical Trials Plenary session.  Bianca Weinstock-Guttman, MD, Professor of Neurology, had a presentation on fingolimod in relapsing-remitting multiple sclerosis, highlighted by Medpage Today.  In the photograph below, Dr. Wolfe is pictured with current and former neurology housestaff (left to right: Ashish Arora, Sandyha Mehla, Daniela Zambrano, Haris Kamal, Gil Wolfe, Brian Trummer, Lynn Chouhfeh) during one of the meeting’s poster sessions.


Drs. Hojnacki and Weinstock-Guttman are ThreeBest Rated

Drs. David Hojnacki and Bianca Weinstock-Guttman, both faculty neurologists at the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, University at Buffalo/SUNY, have been recognized by ThreeBest Rated for neurologic care in Buffalo.  They actually were the only neurologists chosen; the third provider selected practices neurosurgery.  ThreeBest Rated chooses physicians based on practice history, customer reviews and satisfaction, trust, and cost.  Drs. Hojnacki and Weinstock-Guttman are members of the multiple sclerosis division in UB’s Department of Neurology.

Bianca Weinstock-Guttman, MD

David Hojnacki, MD

Dr. Ralph Benedict Plays Key Role in MS Outcomes Assessment Consortium

Ralph Benedict, PhD, Professor of Neurology at Univ. at Buffalo Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences where he directs the neuropsychology program, has recently published four papers as part of the Multiple Sclerosis Outcomes Assessment Consortium (MSOAC).  Dr. Benedict played a lead role in this effort; the consortium includes representatives from the FDA, NIH (NINDS), academia, industry and advocacy organizations.  The four papers have been published in the Multiple Sclerosis Journal (See msoac-benedict-msj-2017 for Dr. Benedict’s lead paper) and provide a framework for the FDA to assess outcomes from treatment interventions in multiple sclerosis.

Ralph Benedict, PhD

Ralph Benedict, PhD

UB Dept. of Neurology to Present over 30 Papers at 2017 AAN Annual Meeting

The Univ. at Buffalo/SUNY Department of Neurology, Jacobs Neurological Institute, of the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences again will have a large presence at the American Academy of Neurology (AAN) Annual Meeting to be held April 22-28, 2017 in Boston.  Between scientific and educational sessions, the department will conduct over 30 presentations.  Research topics include multiple sclerosis (MS), neuroimaging, stroke, headache, central nervous system malignancies, experimental autoimmune encephalomyelitis (a model for MS), and the history of neurology.  Department faculty listed as first, senior or co-authors on the abstracts include Drs. Ralph Benedict, Marilou Ching, Christopher Deline, Michael Dwyer, Edward Fine, David Hojnacki, Amit Kandel, Channa Kolb, Ping Li, Ashkan Mowla, Murali Ramanathan, Melissa Rayhill, Robert Sawyer, Ferdinand Schweser, Bianca Weinstock-Guttman, and Robert Zivadinov.  Neurology residents and fellows include Drs. Muhammad Ahmed, Ashish Arora, Hao Cheng, Svetlana Eckert, Rabia Ghazi, Haris Kamal, Rakesh Magun, Sandhya Mehla, Harshit Shah, Brian Trummer, and Daniela Zambrano.   Research staff and other collaborators are Rahil Ahmed, Nicola Bertolino, Ellen Carl, Annemarie Crumlish, Jackie Durfee, Sirin Gandhi, Jesper Hagemeier, Dejan Jakimovski, Katelyn Kavak, Navdeep Lail, Clair Modica, Muhammad Nadeem, Deepa Ramasamy, and Michelle Sudyn.