UB Dept. of Neurology Holds Event to Update University Benefactors

On December 7, 2017, the Dept. of Neurology of the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Univ. at Buffalo, held an event to update the community on clinical and investigative progress being made in the clinical neurosciences.  In addition to brief research and educational presentations provided by several department faculty, including Drs. Michael Dwyer, Osman Farooq, Alexis Lizarraga, Robert Sawyer, Nicholas Silvestri, Kinga Szigeti, and Caila Vaughn, guests were able to tour UBMD Neurology’s new clinical space on the 4th floor of the Conventus Building and the Epilepsy Monitoring Unit on the top floor of recently opened Oishei Children’s Hospital.  The event closed with dedication of the adult and pediatric multiple sclerosis clinics in honor of Dr. Lawrence Jacobs, a pioneer in the therapy of MS and a former chairman of the UB Dept. of Neurology.  Several members of his family were able to attend.  Dr. Gil Wolfe, Irvin and Rosemary Smith Professor and Chairman of the Dept. of Neurology, served as master of ceremonies.  The UB Office of Philanthropy and Alumni Engagement, spearheaded by Jennifer Seth-Cimini, assisted the department in organizing the event.

Kinga Szigeti, MD, PhD (far right) discusses advances in memory disorders

Dedication of the Jacobs MS Center for Treatment and Research and the Pediatric MS program


Seven UBMD Neurologists Recognized as Top Docs

The Dept. of Neurology boasts seven physicians who have been named to the Castle Connolly Top Docs list recently published in the January 2018 issue of Buffalo Spree magazine.  The recognition follows screening by a physician-led team of researchers on both the national and regional levels.  These are the physicians most highly regarded by their peers.  The physicians mentioned as Top Docs are:

Adult neurology: Drs. Robert Sawyer, Kinga Szigeti and Gil Wolfe

Neuro-ophthalmology:  Dr. Norah Lincoff (Ophthalmology)

Child neurology: Drs. Thomas Langan, Sarah Finnegan, and Arie Weinstock

Shucard Lab Receives National Institute of Justice Grant for Research Program

Thomas Covey, PhD

Janet Shucard, PhD

Janet Shucard, PhD, a faculty psychologist and Associate Professor in the Department of Neurology, Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Univ. at Buffalo/SUNY, has received a 3-year grant totaling $830,000 from the National Institute of Justice (US Department of Justice).  The grant will support her investigations into post-traumatic stress disorder, employing advanced neurophysiological measurements of brain function.  The current project will study police officers.  The group has used their neurophysiological techniques recording brain function to study neurocognitive processes in a variety of populations including patients with diseases such as multiple sclerosis and lupus, as well as Vietnam War Veterans.  David Shucard, PhD, Professor and Director of Cognitive and Behavioral Neurosciences, and Thomas Covey, PhD, Assistant Professor, are both co-investigators on the grant, as is John Violanti, PhD, Professor in the UB Department of Epidemiology and Environmental Health.  A number of undergraduate and graduate students are trained in the Shucard laboratory.

David Shucard, PhD

Scott Pomeroy, MD, PhD, delivers inaugural Drs. Michael E. Cohen and Patricia K. Duffner Annual Lectureship in Neurology

On October 12, 2017, Scott Pomeroy, MD, PhD, Neurologist-in-Chief at Boston Children’s Hospital and the Bronson Crothers Professor of Neurology at Harvard Medical School who is an international authority on childhood central nervous system tumors, gave the inaugural annual lectureship that honors Drs. Michael Cohen and Patricia Duffner, child neurologists and professors emeritus in the Univ at Buffalo Dept. of Neurology.  Neuro-oncology was a primary interest of both Drs. Cohen and Duffner;  the lectureship is supported by a fund they established in 1977.  Dr. Pomeroy’s talk was entitled “Neurodevelopmental Origin of Childhood Central Nervous System Tumors”  and was held at the Hauptman-Woodward Institute.

Drs. Michael Cohen, Scott Pomeroy and Patricia Duffner (l to r)

Dr. Weinstock-Guttman and MS Program Receive Impact Award from National MS Society

Bianca Weinstock-Guttman, MD, Professor of Neurology at Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Univ. at Buffalo/SUNY, and Director of the Jacobs Multiple Sclerosis Center for Treatment and Research, has been recognized by the National MS Society with the Impact Award.  The award recognizes individuals or entities who help ensure that patients with MS live life to the fullest.  The award was presented at the society’s 39th Annual Ambassadors Ball on October 12, 2017 in Washington, DC, at the Marriott Marquis Hotel.  Other faculty in the MS Division are Drs. David Hojnacki, Channa Kolb, and Alexis Lizarraga.  Congratulations to the entire MS team!

Bianca Weinstock-Guttman, MD, receiving NMSS Impact Award

Dr. Ferdinand Schweser Receives Neuroimaging Program Grant through Dana Foundation

Ferdinand Schweser, PhD, Assistant Professor of Neurology and Biomedical Engineering in the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at Univ. at Buffalo/SUNY, has received a $200,000 grant from the Dana Foundation’s David Mahoney Neuroimaging Program.  The grant funding stretches over 3 years and will support Dr. Schweser’s pioneering work at the Buffalo Neuroimaging Analysis Center (BNAC) on magnetic resonance features of iron homeostasis and oligodendrocyte viability in gray matter in the setting of acute and chronic inflammation, as may be seen in multiple sclerosis and other neurological disorders.  The Dana Foundation is based in New York City.

Ferdinand Schweser, PhD


Dr. David Hojnacki Honored at National MS Society Champions on the Move Dinner

David Hojnacki, MD, Assistant Professor of Neurology at Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, and an expert in multiple sclerosis and neuroimaging, was honored this week at the Upstate New York Chapter Champions on the Move dinner for the National MS Society.  At the event, Dr. Hojnacki was recognized with the Stephen H. Kelly Award for a “Professional on the Move.”  The event was hosted by local news anchor Jacquie Walker of WIVB-TV, Channel 4.  Dr. Hojnacki plays a key role in the clinical and research arms of the Department of Neurology’s MS Section.  He also serves as program director for the UCNS-accredited neuroimaging fellowship.

David Hojnacki, MD