Dr. Robert Griggs honored with second annual Drs. Cohen and Duffner Annual Lectureship in Neurology

On November 15, 2018, Robert C. Griggs, MD, Professor of Neurology, Medicine, Pathology/Laboratory Medicine, and Pediatrics at University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry, delivered the second Drs. Michael Cohen and Patricia Duffner Annual Lectureship in Neurology at Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Univ. at Buffalo/SUNY.  Dr. Griggs is a former Chairman of the Dept. of Neurology at Univ. of Rochester and is an international authority on neuromuscular disorders.  He has served as Editor-in-Chief of Neurology and President of the American Academy of Neurology, and was elected to the National Academy of Medicine in 1998.  He founded the Muscle Study Group that same year and led the NINDS-supported CINCH network that studies neurological channelopathies such as periodic paralysis.  The NIH has also funded his work in Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy.  Dr. Griggs’ talk was titled, “Evidence Based Treatments for Rare Diseases.”  The annual lectureship honors Drs. Cohen and Duffner, child neurologists and professors emeritus in the Univ. at Buffalo Dept. of Neurology.


Berch Griggs, MD (left) and Michael Cohen, MD


UB Dept. of Neurology Recognized as Center of Excellence for DBS in Epilepsy

The epilepsy division of the Dept. of Neurology, Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Univ. at Buffalo/SUNY, has been recognized as a Center of Excellence for deep brain stimulation (DBS) approaches to managing epilepsy.  There are only 30 other centers across the country who received this initial recognition for this new approach to seizure management.  Neurology faculty Drs. Robert Glover, Ping Li, Kelly Andrzejewski, and colleagues from the Dept. of Neurosurgery were involved with the programmatic recognition.  The epilepsy program, under the directorship of Arie Weinstock, MD, also offers epilepsy surgery, laser ablation, vagus nerve stimulation, and other state-of-the-art approaches in treating epilepsy.

Robert Glover, MD

Kelly Andrzejewski, DO, PhD

Ping Li, MD, MSc

Dr. Alok Singla Awarded 2018 Grass Young Investigator Award

Alok Singla, MBBS, a 2018 graduate of the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Univ. at Buffalo child neurology training program, has been awarded the 2018 Grass Young Investigator Award by the American Epilepsy Society.  The award recognizes eight outstanding young investigators conducting research related to epilepsy.  Dr. Singla, under the mentorship of Arie Weinstock, MD, Professor in the Dept. of Neurology and Director of the UB comprehensive epilepsy program, completed a project studying the predictive value of early EEG in neonates with hypoxic-ischemic encephalopathy.  Dr. Singla was selected from over 1300 other submissions.  He will present his findings at the upcoming American Epilepsy Society annual meeting to be held later this year in New Orleans.  Sarah Finnegan, MD, PhD, Associate Professor of Neurology, serves as the director of the Child Neurology Residency Training Program.

Alok Singla, MBBS


Dr. Weinstock Attends Press Conference Promoting Access of Cannabidiol for Severe Epilepsy

Dr. Arie Weinstock, section chief of child neurology and director of the epilepsy program for the Dept. of Neurology, Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Univ. at Buffalo/SUNY, attended a press conference on June 29, 2018 to advocate for easy access of Epidiolex, a cannabidiol preparation that has received approval from the FDA for treatment of two forms of severe childhood epilepsy.  Also at the press conference were NY Assemblyman Sean Ryan and NY State Senator Chris Jacobs.  Dr. Weinstock and his team were part of the clinical trials that demonstrated the effectiveness of this form of medical marijuana in Lennox Gastaut and Dravet syndromes, two severe forms of epilepsy seen in children.  The press conference requested that Governor Cuomo sign into law legislation already passed in Albany to expedite access to this new therapy.

Dr. Arie Weinstock (3rd from left). Standing to his left in order are NYS Assemblyman Sean Ryan and Senator Chris Jacobs.

Dr. Zivadinov Awarded with Gold Medal Award for Research

Robert Zivadinov, MD, PhD, Professor in the Dept. of Neurology, Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Univ. at Buffalo/SUNY, has received the Gold Medal Award at the International Society for Neurovascular Disease.  The award was presented on June 2, 2018 at the society’s annual meeting.  It recognizes outstanding ongoing contributions to research and education in the field.  Dr. Zivadinov serves as Director of the Buffalo Neuroimaging Analysis Center and the Translational Imaging Center at the university’s NIH-funded CTRC.

Robert Zivadinov, MD, PhD receiving Gold Medal Award

Drs. Hojnacki and Weinstock-Guttman Chosen by ThreeBest Rated in 2018

Drs. David Hojnacki and Bianca Weinstock-Guttman, both faculty neurologists who specialize in multiple sclerosis at the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, University at Buffalo/SUNY, have again been recognized by ThreeBest Rated for neurologic care in Buffalo.  ThreeBest Rated chooses physicians based on practice history, customer reviews and satisfaction, trust, and cost.  Dr. Weinstock-Guttman, Professor of Neurology,  directs the Jacobs MS Center for Treatment and Research.  Dr. Hojnacki, Associate Professor of Neurology, serves as program director for the fellowship training program in neuroimaging.

David Hojnacki, MD

Bianca Weinstock-Guttman, MD

UB Dept. of Neurology to Present 40 Papers at 2018 AAN Meeting

The Univ. at Buffalo/SUNY Department of Neurology, Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences will once again have a large presence at the American Academy of Neurology (AAN) Annual Meeting to be held April 21-27, 2018 in Los Angeles.  Between scientific and educational sessions, the department will conduct some 40 presentations, a likely record for the department.  Research topics include multiple sclerosis (MS), neuroimaging, stroke, headache, epilepsy, myasthenia gravis, and the history of neurology.  Department faculty listed as first, senior or co-authors on the abstracts include Drs. Ralph Benedict, Michael Dwyer, Edward Fine, Osman Farooq, David Hojnacki, Channa Kolb, Ping Li, Ashkan Mowla (former), Joy Parrish, Murali Ramanathan, Melissa Rayhill, Robert Sawyer, Ferdinand Schweser, Arie Weinstock, Bianca Weinstock-Guttman, Gil Wolfe, and Robert Zivadinov.  Neurology residents and fellows include Drs. Svetlana Eckert, Haris Kamal, Sandhya Mehla, Harshit Shah, and Daniela Zambrano among others.  Numerous research associates in the department and the Buffalo Neuroimaging Analysis Center were also listed on the abstracts.  Tom Fuchs, an MD/PhD student at Jacobs School of Medicine, was awarded a Future Clinical Researcher in Neurology and Neuroscience Award by the AAN for his upcoming platform presentation on the impact of white matter tract disruption and connectivity on cognition in multiple sclerosis.AAN2018_Banner_reg_960px