Univ. at Buffalo Dept. of Neurology Holds 2017 Research Day and Graduation Banquet

UB Neurology Faculty and Housestaff at Research Day 2017

The UB Dept. of Neurology of the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences held its annual Michael E. Cohen, MD, Residents Research Day and Graduation Banquet on June 9, 2017.  All graduating residents presented their research findings, while the PGY-3 level residents presented research plans.  The Research Day was coordinated by Dr. Robert Zivadinov and his Buffalo Neuroimaging Analysis Center staff.

Winners of the Outstanding Resident Presentation Awards for Research Day were Ashish Arora, MBBS, PGY4 and outgoing co-chief resident,  and Sandhya Mehla, MBBS, PGY3.  A copy of the Research Day program is attached. Research Day 2017

At the Graduation Dinner banquet, Daniela Zambrano, MD, PGY3 and incoming co-chief resident, received the teaching award from the medical students.  Felix Cheng, MD, PGY2, and Harshit Shah, MBBS, PGY3, both were recognized with Resident Collegiality awards.  Ashish Arora also received the Dr. Edward Fogan Prize that recognizes overall clinical excellence.  Graduating PGY4 residents were Drs. Ashish Arora, co-chief resident, Hao Cheng, Svetlana Eckert, co-chief resident, and Brian Trummer.  Drs. Osman Farooq and Robert Glover each received Faculty Teaching Awards.  Eva Tamoga and Thomas Ballanca, administrative support staff for the training programs, played key roles in organizing the banquet.  Dr. Nick Silvestri, program director for the adult neurology residency training program, served as master of ceremonies.

Graduating residents (l to r): Drs. Ashish Arora, Svetlana Eckert, Brian Trummer, Hao Cheng