UB Dept. of Neurology Moves to New Administrative/Research Space

The Dept. of Neurology at Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Univ. at Buffalo/SUNY moved in August 2017 to renovated office space across the street from the Conventus Building that houses our outpatient practice on the Buffalo Niagara downtown medical campus.  Our new space is also only one block north of the new Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences downtown building on Main Street.  Our new address is: Dept. of Neurology, 1010 Main St., 2nd floor, Buffalo, NY 14202.


UB Dept. of Neurology to be Busy at 2017 ECTRIMS Meeting

Members of the Dept of Neurology, Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Univ. at Buffalo/SUNY will present over 20 scientific papers at the upcoming European Committee for Treatment and Research in Multiple Sclerosis (ECTRIMS).  The meeting will be held in Paris, France from October 25-28, 2017.  Department faculty and directors listed as authors on the ECTRIMS abstracts include Drs. Ralph Benedict, Sue Bennett, Michael Dwyer, David Hojnacki, Channa Kolb, Ferdinand Schweser, Caila Vaughn, Bianca Weinstock-Guttman, and Robert Zivadinov.  Topics include a wide range of studies on neuroimaging in MS, disability and other disease outcome measures, treatment trials, and the efficacy and safety of knee arthroplasty in the MS population.

Univ. at Buffalo Dept. of Neurology Holds 2017 Research Day and Graduation Banquet

UB Neurology Faculty and Housestaff at Research Day 2017

The UB Dept. of Neurology of the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences held its annual Michael E. Cohen, MD, Residents Research Day and Graduation Banquet on June 9, 2017.  All graduating residents presented their research findings, while the PGY-3 level residents presented research plans.  The Research Day was coordinated by Dr. Robert Zivadinov and his Buffalo Neuroimaging Analysis Center staff.

Winners of the Outstanding Resident Presentation Awards for Research Day were Ashish Arora, MBBS, PGY4 and outgoing co-chief resident,  and Sandhya Mehla, MBBS, PGY3.  A copy of the Research Day program is attached. Research Day 2017

At the Graduation Dinner banquet, Daniela Zambrano, MD, PGY3 and incoming co-chief resident, received the teaching award from the medical students.  Felix Cheng, MD, PGY2, and Harshit Shah, MBBS, PGY3, both were recognized with Resident Collegiality awards.  Ashish Arora also received the Dr. Edward Fogan Prize that recognizes overall clinical excellence.  Graduating PGY4 residents were Drs. Ashish Arora, co-chief resident, Hao Cheng, Svetlana Eckert, co-chief resident, and Brian Trummer.  Drs. Osman Farooq and Robert Glover each received Faculty Teaching Awards.  Eva Tamoga and Thomas Ballanca, administrative support staff for the training programs, played key roles in organizing the banquet.  Dr. Nick Silvestri, program director for the adult neurology residency training program, served as master of ceremonies.

Graduating residents (l to r): Drs. Ashish Arora, Svetlana Eckert, Brian Trummer, Hao Cheng


Stroke Division Helps Secure AHA Get With The Guidelines Gold Plus Recognition

Department of Neurology faculty of the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Univ. at Buffalo/SUNY have again contributed to the recognition of Buffalo General Medical Center and Gates Vascular Institute as a Get With the Guidelines-Stroke Gold Plus Achievement Award Hospital.  The recognition comes from the American Heart Association (AHA) which includes the American Stroke Association as a component body.  Department of Neurology stroke faculty include Dr. Robert Sawyer, Stroke Center Director and department Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs, as well as Drs. Marilou Ching, Christopher Deline, Amit Kandel, and Ashkan Mowla.  Stroke centers that receive Gold Plus recognition adhere to the most up-to-date, evidence-based treatments for stroke.

Robert N. Sawyer Jr., MD

UB Dept. of Neurology Active at AAN Annual Meeting

The Dept. of Neurology of the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Univ. at Buffalo, had an active presence at the Annual Meeting of the American Academy of Neurology held in Boston from April 22 to 28.  In addition to over 30 platform and abstract presentations mentioned in an earlier post, Gil Wolfe, MD, Irvin and Rosemary Smith Professor and Chairman of the department, presented results of the thymectomy trial in myasthenia gravis at the Clinical Trials Plenary session.  Bianca Weinstock-Guttman, MD, Professor of Neurology, had a presentation on fingolimod in relapsing-remitting multiple sclerosis, highlighted by Medpage Today.  In the photograph below, Dr. Wolfe is pictured with current and former neurology housestaff (left to right: Ashish Arora, Sandyha Mehla, Daniela Zambrano, Haris Kamal, Gil Wolfe, Brian Trummer, Lynn Chouhfeh) during one of the meeting’s poster sessions.


Drs. Hojnacki and Weinstock-Guttman are ThreeBest Rated

Drs. David Hojnacki and Bianca Weinstock-Guttman, both faculty neurologists at the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, University at Buffalo/SUNY, have been recognized by ThreeBest Rated for neurologic care in Buffalo.  They actually were the only neurologists chosen; the third provider selected practices neurosurgery.  ThreeBest Rated chooses physicians based on practice history, customer reviews and satisfaction, trust, and cost.  Drs. Hojnacki and Weinstock-Guttman are members of the multiple sclerosis division in UB’s Department of Neurology.

Bianca Weinstock-Guttman, MD

David Hojnacki, MD

Dr. Ralph Benedict Plays Key Role in MS Outcomes Assessment Consortium

Ralph Benedict, PhD, Professor of Neurology at Univ. at Buffalo Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences where he directs the neuropsychology program, has recently published four papers as part of the Multiple Sclerosis Outcomes Assessment Consortium (MSOAC).  Dr. Benedict played a lead role in this effort; the consortium includes representatives from the FDA, NIH (NINDS), academia, industry and advocacy organizations.  The four papers have been published in the Multiple Sclerosis Journal (See msoac-benedict-msj-2017 for Dr. Benedict’s lead paper) and provide a framework for the FDA to assess outcomes from treatment interventions in multiple sclerosis.

Ralph Benedict, PhD

Ralph Benedict, PhD